Home |  News |  Conferences |  Commodities |  Publications |  Business Directory |  Resources |  Help
Go to the MEI Online homepage

Search Site:

MEI Online: Hydrometallurgy: Awards: The Sherrit Hydrometallurgy Award


Click for more info on Flotation '19

ALTA 2019


:: The Sherrit Hydrometallurgy Award


The Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award was established in 1976 by Sherritt Gordon Mines Limited, to recognize significant contribution in the field of hydrometallurgy.


The MetSoc Hydrometallurgy Section awards the Sherritt Hydrometallurgy award.

Conditions of Award

The award is presented at the MetSoc Awards Banquet when the Hydrometallurgical Meeting is part of the Conference of Metallurgists.

  • The award shall be made from time to time as circumstances warrant in recognition of significant contributions to the advancement of hydrometallurgy through research, plant design and operations, education or CIM affairs.
  • No more than one award may be made in any one year.
  • It shall be awarded to a CIM member who is either a Canadian citizen or an individual who, while resident in Canada, made significant contributions to the advancement of hydrometallurgy.
  • Nominees for this award shall not have reached the age of 50 years by January 1st of the year in which the nomination becomes effective.
  • The adjudication of the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Hydrometallurgy Section of the Metallurgical Society of CIM. The Committee shall consist of (a) an Awards Chairman, appointed from the Hydrometallurgy Section, and either a previous Award winner or otherwise ineligible to receive the award; (b) five immediately previous Award winners. If the Award Chairman is one of these, the sixth most recent will join the Committee.
  • Nominations for the award shall be made in writing by not fewer than three (3) members of CIM, to the Section Awards Chairman. Each nomination shall be accompanied by a testimonial statement giving clearly the reasons which make the nominee a suitable candidate. Other supporting data (e.g. curriculum vitae) can be included if desired.
  • Nominees shall remain in nomination for three years, and at the end of that period shall be eligible for renomination in the manner specified by Conditions 4 and 6.
  • At the completion of the Section Awards Committee adjudication, the Section Awards Chairman will notify the Hydrometallurgy Section Chairman of the Committee's selection.
  • The award, including the testimonial, shall be presented at the Annual Hydrometallurgy Section Meeting. The Section may elect to invite the recipient to deliver a special lecture during the Section Meeting.

A nomination stands for three (3) years.




Select the list(s) you'd like to join below, enter your email address, choose a content format and click "Join."
[more info]

MEI Online Update
MEI Online Job Vacancies


click for more information

© 1998-2017, Minerals Engineering International

Email: amanda@min-eng.com