Home |  News |  Conferences |  Commodities |  Publications |  Business Directory |  Resources |  Help
Go to the MEI Online homepage

Search Site:

MEI Online: People News: Europe: July 21st 2015


Click for more info on Flotation '19

click for more information


:: IOM3 Awards Ceremony


Winners of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3) Awards were recently invited to a ceremony to celebrate their achievements at Kensington Roof Gardens, at a dinner hosted by the Institute and a drinks reception sponsored by the world's leading supplier of niobium and niobium technology, CBMM.

The annual awards recognise both personal triumphs and outstanding contributions of companies within the materials cycle. One of the awards presented on the night was the Medal for Excellence, awarded for contributions to the mining industry, which went to Oil & Gas UK and the Futers Gold Medal, for outstanding services to the international minerals industry, awarded to Derek Fray FRS FRChem FREng FIMMM.

The 2015 Silver Medal was awarded to Dr Matthew Cole CEng FIoN. Each year, this award goes to a Younger Member in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the broad field of materials science. Matthew said, “I feel privileged. These awards are critical, they really help in the formative years of your career”.

The Griffith Medal and Prize awarded to Dr Ivan Parkin FRSC FIMMM. Ivan is a mid-career scientist whose whole career has been devoted to the development of new methods to make, characterise and functionally test materials. His work covers solid-state chemistry for bulk materials, thin film coatings through to antimicrobial polymers. The work is characterised by innovative synthetic insight, the development of new classes of materials and the development of fundamental understanding. His work has already had an immediate commercial, societal and scientific impact. He is cited in the world's top 600 materials scientists, and in the world’s top chemists lists based on ESI Thomson analysis. He has more publications in the Journal of Materials Chemistry than any other author.

The James S Walker award is for a student project, already examined, on the subject of polymers. Elizabeth Walton won this award in 2015, who chose to do her fourth year research project in the MIT Langer Laboratory. Her project was in the development of materials known as Dynamic Covalent Networks with a high drug loading and a sustained drug release profile.



To read the full list of winners, visit www.iom3.org/iom3-awards-2015




MEI Blog: for the latest gossip

Select the list(s) you'd like to join below, enter your email address, choose a content format and click "Join."
[more info]

MEI Online Update
MEI Online Job Vacancies


© 1998-2017, Minerals Engineering International

Email: amanda@min-eng.com