Home |  News |  Conferences |  Commodities |  Publications |  Business Directory |  Resources |  Help
Go to the MEI Online homepage Sponsored by: JKMRC  JKTech    
Search Site:

MEI Online: People News: Australasia: September 9th 2010


click to find out about MEI Conferences


:: IMPC Lifetime Achievement Award

For the first time in its history, the IMPC awarded its prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award jointly to Prof. Alban Lynch and Prof. Wang Dianzou at the gala dinner in Brisbane on 8th September.

Alban Lynch was, from 1970-1989, the first Director of Australia’s JKMRC, and from 1988-93 Head of the Department of Mining and Metallurgical Engineering at the University of Queensland, after which, until 2007 he was Visiting Professor at Universidad Federale de Minas Gerais, Brazil, University of Science, Malaysia, Universidad Autonoma de San Luis Potosi, Mexico and Hacettepe University, Turkey.

Prof. Lynch has published 4 books and over 150 technical publications in conference proceedings and refereed journals, and has been the recipient of many awards:

  • 1979 President’s Award, The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy.
  • 1985 The Richards Award, American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers.
  • 1993 The Institute Medal, The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy.
  • 1999 Officer in the Order of Australia, ‘for service to the mining industry, particularly in the area of research and education on the application of engineering technology in minerals processing’.
  • 2000 A M Gaudin Award, Society for Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration Inc., ‘for his many contributions to the simulation and control of comminution and flotation circuits’.
  • 2004 Hon. Fellowship, The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, ‘in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the Minerals Industry over many years which has previously been recognised through 50 years membership in 2004, The Institute Medal (1993), President's Award (1978), Distinguished Speaker Exchange Program (1989), President of The AusIMM (1989) and the Sir Willis Connolly Medal in 1991’.

In the photo are Robin Batterham (IMPC 2010 President), Cyril O’Connor (IMPC Chairman), Prof. Dianzuo, Prof. Lynch, and Eric Forssberg (past IMPC Chairman)




Click for more info on Flotation '19

MEI Blog: for the latest gossip

Select the list(s) you'd like to join below, enter your email address, choose a content format and click "Join."
[more info]

MEI Online Update
MEI Online Job Vacancies


© 1998-2017, Minerals Engineering International

Email: amanda@min-eng.com